King Tides

What is a King Tide?

A King Tide is a higher-than-normal tide that typically lasts about 3 hours. King Tides occur annually and predictably; in September through November in Miami. King Tides may cause residents to experience "sunny day flooding" where a street or other areas will temporarily become flooded when it is not raining.

Download King Tide Flyer 2019(PDF, 2MB)

Where should I expect King Tide flooding?

High water levels caused by King Tides can cause flooding on streets or other areas near waterways and the coast. In addition, areas of the City at low elevation that are not coastal may also experience flooding during King Tides.

When should I expect King Tide flooding in 2019?

  • August 29 - September 3
  • September 26 - October 3
  • October 25 - 31
  • November 24 - 28
  • see below for exact flood times

Times listed represent peak time. King Tide flooding can be observed 1.5-2 hours before and after peak tide time.

King Tide Event 1

Fri 8/30/2019 10:02 PM
Fri 8/30/2019 9:31 AM
Sat 8/31/2019 10:24 AM
Sat 8/31/2019 10:51 PM
Sun 9/1/2019 11:17 AM
Sun 9/1/2019 11:39 PM
Mon 9/2/2019 12:09 PM
Tue 9/3/2019 1:02 PM

 

King Tide Event 2

Thu 9/26/2019 7:58 PM
Thu 9/26/2019 7:25 AM
Fri 9/27/2019 8:48 PM
Fri 9/27/2019 8:20 AM
Sat 9/28/2019 9:13 AM
Sat 9/28/2019 9:37 PM
Sun 9/29/2019 10:05 AM
Sun 9/29/2019 10:25 PM
Mon 9/30/2019 10:56 AM
Mon 9/30/2019 11:13 PM
Tue 10/1/2019 11:47 AM
Wed 10/2/2019 12:37 PM
Wed 10/2/2019 12:01 AM
Thu 10/3/2019 1:29 PM
Thu 10/3/2019 12:50 AM

 

King Tide Event 3

Thu 10/24/2019 6:41 PM
Fri 10/25/2019 7:33 PM
Fri 10/25/2019 7:09 AM
Sat 10/26/2019 8:03 AM
Sat 10/26/2019 8:23 PM
Sun 10/27/2019 8:55 AM
Sun 10/27/2019 9:11 PM
Mon 10/28/2019 9:46 AM
Mon 10/28/2019 9:59 PM
Tue 10/29/2019 10:35 AM
Tue 10/29/2019 10:47 PM
Wed 10/30/2019 11:24 AM
Wed 10/30/2019 11:35 PM
Thu 10/31/2019 12:12 PM
Fri 11/1/2019 1:01 PM

 

King Tide Event 4

Sun 11/24/2019 6:46 AM
Mon 11/25/2019 7:37 AM
Tue 11/26/2019 8:26 AM
Wed 11/27/2019 9:14 AM
Thu 11/28/2019 10:01 AM


bold 
denotes a Peak event - tide levels expected to be at their highest.  

  • Floodwater may contain unseen hazards such as trash and pollutants picked up from the environment, pets, wildlife, broken glass and other debris.  Do not enter floodwater and do not allow children to play in floodwater.  If you or your children come into contact with floodwater, be sure to clean skin with soap and hot water.
  • King Tides can be observed 1.5-2 hours before and after peak times.
  • Driving through floodwater is not advisable.  Do not drive through floodwater as it may be deeper than it appears, and unseen debris could cause flat tires.
  • Do not park your vehicle in low lying areas. Vehicles that have come into contact with floodwater should be checked and cleaned. 
  • Boaters should be aware that King Tides can cause lower clearance levels than normal under fixed bridges.
  • Properties in low lying areas should use flood mitigation options such as sand bags, etc.
  • Report King Tides in your neighborhood using our online form.  Remember to drain and cover.