Section 8

The City's Section 8 program is not accepting new applications. 

We will post to this page with any updates. 

The City of Miami's Section 8 program is a federal housing program funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). This program subsidized rental assistance to meet the housing needs of qualified income persons.  

You can also call the Section 8 hotline at 305-416-1927.

Eligibility for the Section 8 housing program is determined primarily by the applicants' income and household size. Families, elderly, disabled/ handicapped people and single people may be eligible.  

The City of Miami participates in both the Section 8 Moderate Rehabilitation Program which is a project-based program where the assistance is given to eligible participants occupying specific multi-family apartment buildings, and in the Housing Choice Voucher Program, which is a tenant-based program in which the participants can choose the unit where they will live.


If you are a currently a Section 8 client with the City of Miami and are looking for a residence, you may go to (1-866-466-7328) for an up-to-date listing of available properties. All Section 8 properties are inspected regularly for compliance to federal Housing Quality Standards regulations.  

Also, if you have rental property within our jurisdiction you wish to list with our office, please do so at (1-866-466-7328). 

Information for Landlords   

 If you are interested in becoming a Section 8 landlord, the following information will help you understand the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) program:

City of Miami Section 8 Landlord Outreach 

Also, if you have rental property within our jurisdiction you wish to list with our office, please do so at on the web or by calling 1-877-428-8844.

About the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act (VAWA)  "" What Section 8 Landlords/Owners Need to Know   

On March 7, 2013, the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act 2013 (VAWA 2013) was signed into law. VAWA 2013 protects individuals who are victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault and stalking, regardless of sex, gender identity or sexual orientation, from being denied housing assistance on the basis of, or as a direct result of, the applicant or resident being a victim. A final rule, effective December 2016, implements the requirements of VAWA 2013. The law was enacted to ensure that Housing Authorities and Landlords/Ownersof HUD-Assisted Housing (Section 8) are consistent with HUD's nondiscrimination and equal opportunity requirements. To ensure that owners/landlords are compliant with this VAWA Final Ruling, please see the NOTICE OF LANDLORD RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS UNDER THE VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN ACT (VAWA), as issued by US HUD.

You can find HUD's final VAWA rule, in its entirety, at: