Mayor Francis Suarez

Mayor

Mayor's Swearing In

Mayor Suarez is married to Gloria Fonts Suarez. They have a son, Andrew Xavier, and a daughter, Gloriana Pilar. They consider themselves honored and blessed to be raising their family in the City of Miami.

Prior to being elected with 86 percent support from Miami residents, Mayor Suarez served as Miami Commissioner for District 4 during eight years. 

Mayor Suarez had many legislative accomplishments as Commissioner, including implementing ShotSpotter technology in the City, a state-of-the-art gunshot detection system, setting up a transportation trust fund, which allocates funds for current and future transit projects, and passing the Reverse Redline legislation, authorizing lawsuits against several major banks for discriminatory mortgage lending practices. As a result, the City’s lawsuit reached the U.S. Supreme Court, which ruled that cities have standing to sue banks under the Fair Housing Act for such discriminatory practices. 

Mayor Suarez also serves as Chair of the Environment Committee, as well as on the Advisory Board of the U.S. Conference of Mayors. In these capacities, Mayor Suarez takes a leading role in collaborating with fellow mayors from around the country to preserve the environment and develop programs and policies that directly benefit the City of Miami. He also serves as Vice-Chair of the Miami-Dade Transportation Planning Organization (TPO) and is the former President of the Miami-Dade County League of Cities. In his role at the TPO, Mayor Suarez championed the Strategic Miami Area Rapid Transit (SMART) Plan, which was unanimously approved. The SMART Plan expands mass transit options in Miami-Dade County through six main corridors and new bus routes to ease traffic congestion and support future population growth. Mayor Suarez helped negotiate the Tri-Rail connection to Downtown, offering free ridership to Overtown residents for life. He also ushered in the free trolley system in Miami, which carries an average of 450,000 passengers per month.

The oldest of four siblings, Mayor Suarez was born into a family where, as he describes, “being socially conscious was a kind of requirement.” As the son of former City of Miami Mayor, Xavier Suarez, he was also exposed to public service since he was a child, growing up around his father’s office at City Hall, the same one he works out of today.

Mayor Suarez earned a bachelor’s degree in finance from Florida International University, graduating in the top ten percent of his class. He went on to receive his law degree from the University of Florida Frederic G. Levin College of Law, where he graduated cum laude.He is currently an attorney with the law firm Greenspoon Marder, specializing in corporate and real-estate transactions.

City of Miami Mayor’s Office 
305-250-5300  
3500 Pan American Drive  
Miami, FL 33133

We invite you to refer to our Department Directory to identify the appropriate department or individual who can assist you or e-mail your questions, comments or concerns to fsuarez@miamigov.com

Jeremy Schwarz 
Chief of Staff 
jschwarz@miamigov.com

Giovanni Castro 
Deputy Chief of Staff 
gcastro@miamigov.com

Gabriela Castillo 
Director of Communications 
gcastillo@miamigov.com

David Zarco  
Deputy Director of Communications 
dzarco@miamigov.com

Brandon Cruz 
Senior Aide 
bcruz@miamigov.com

Keith Carswell 
Economic Development & Resiliency Advisor to the Mayor 
kcarswell@miamigov.com

Melanie Ramirez
Legislative Aide
melramirez@miamigov.com

Alicia Fernandez 
Aide to the Mayor for Community Programs 
alfernandez@miamigov.com

Ana Pujol 
Receptionist 
apujol@miamigov.com

Romeo Scott 
Special Aide 
sromeo@miamigov.com

Jose Alvarez 
Special Aide 
jalvarez@miamigov.com

Osvaldo Manzano 
Special Aide 
omanzano@miamigov.com

Click below to see recent news stories about Mayor Francis Suarez and his initiatives. 

Mayor Suarez in the News