Commissioner Alex Diaz de la Portilla - District 1

Commissioner

Commissioner Alex Diaz de la Portilla is the elected official for District 1.

IMG_1969 (1).jpeg

Commissioner Alex Díaz de la Portilla is a Cuban American politician who grew up right here in Little Havana. He was elected to the City of Miami Commission to represent District 1 on November 2019. District 1 includes Flagami, Allapattah, and parts of Little Havana. Before joining the City of Miami Commission, Díaz de la Portilla was a member of the Florida Senate from 2000 to 2010, representing parts of Miami-Dade County. As Senator, he was reelected three times and served as President Pro Tempore from 2002 to 2004 and as Senate Majority leader from 2008 to 2010. Before this, Díaz de la Portilla served in the Florida House of Representatives from 1994 to 2000.

Commissioner Alex Díaz de la Portilla is a Cuban American politician who grew up right here in Little Havana. He was elected to the City of Miami Commission to represent District 1 on November 2019. District 1 includes Flagami, Allapattah, and parts of Little Havana.

Staff

Alex Barrera
Chief of Staff
Abarrera@miamigov.com

Karla Fortuny
Communications Aide
Kfortuny@miamigov.com

Angela Vargas
Receptionist
Anvargas@miamigov.com

Anabel Castillo
Community Liaison
Acastillo@miamigov.com

Helena Jaimes Espinosa
Community Liaison
Hjespinosa@miamigov.com

Julio Guillen
Community Liaison
Jguillen@miamigov.com