PERMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR RESIDENTIAL PROJECTS
- Proof of ownership (warranty deed,
closing statement, or Metro Dade County tax
- An owner may apply for a permit,
supervise and do the work in connection with
the construction, maintenance, repair,
alteration, and addition to a single-family
or duplex residence for his own use and
occupancy and not intended for sale.
- No more than one (1) permit shall be
issued to an owner for the construction of a
new single-family or duplex residence in any
twenty-four (24) month period. Permits for
alterations and additions, or plumbing,
electrical, mechanical, or gas installations
shall be issued only in connection with one
single-family or duplex residence in any
twenty-four (24) month period, although more
than one permit may be issued for such work
on the same single-family or duplex
residence during that period.
- The owner must come in person between
the hours 8:00 AM and 11:30 AM.
- The permit application and affidavit
must be signed and notarized.
- The owner must prove to the Building
Official that he has the knowledge and
ability to do the work.
- If there is a violation on the property:
*No building permit will be issued to a
homeowner to cover illegal work.
*The work must be performed by a general
contractor or a specific contractor licensed
to do the work.
- An architect’s or engineer’s report must
be submitted certifying that the work was
done in accordance with the Florida Building
and Code and general construction practices.
PERMIT REQUIREMENTS FOR RESIDENTIAL
- State registration or certification.
- Municipal contractor’s occupational
license or certificate of registration.
- Certificate of Competency.
- Certificate of insurance:
Liability with no less than $100,000 per
accident or occurrence for bodily injury
and $25,000 per accident for property
Must show name of insurer, type of
policy issued, policy number, date of
inception and expiration, type of
insurance, and that no changes or
cancellation of the insurance shall be
effective without thirty (30) days
written notice by registered or
The Florida Prototype Building
Program (FPBP), authorized by Section
553.77, Florida Statutes, is a long
anticipated plan review and approval
system that allows residential and
construction businesses to simplify the
permitting process. Buildings and
structures to be constructed many times
in many different locations can undergo
plan review once, saving time, money and
effort. For information contact
Permits will be issued to contractors
with an affidavit of authorization from
the owner on all buildings (Form
available at the Permit Counter).
TO CLOSE A PERMIT
To close a permit all required inspections for
both the master permit and any linked permits
must be completed and approved.
permit is about to expire, and you know you will
not be able to request and pass a required
inspection prior to the expiration date, you can
request a one-time extension. This extension can
only be requested when the permit is still
active and not expired. You will need to submit
a letter requesting the extension and you will
be charged a fee of $58. Once a permit has
expired it can only be extended with a
If your permit has
expired and you have not completed all required
inspections, you must first obtain a completion
permit to re-open the permit and then you can
continue requesting all remaining inspections.
To obtain a completion permit you will
need a permit application signed and notarized
by the original contractor only. If the permit
was done by owner then only the owner’s
notarized signature is required. The fee for the
completion permit is based on the value of the
work remaining to be completed. You will be
charged $32 for the first $1000 of value and $16
for every $1000 of value thereafter.
you cannot find the original contractor and you
wish to change the contractor, both the owner
and the new contractor must sign and notarize
the application. At the bottom please mark the
boxes for both completion permit and change of
contractor. You will be charged for both on the
same application. The fee for change of
contractor is $104.
If your permit is
expired but no work was performed and no
inspections were requested, you have the option
of requesting a revocation of the permit. There
will be no refund of the permit costs if this
option is chosen. You will need to submit a
“Revocation of Permit” form which can be found
online under the “Building Forms” drop down